Loading…
This event has ended. Visit the official site or create your own event on Sched.
avatar for Arlie Russell Hochschild

Arlie Russell Hochschild

Hochschild is an American sociologist and academic. She is professor emerita of sociology at the University of California, Berkeley. Hochschild has long focused on the human emotions which underlie moral beliefs, practices, and social life generally. She is the author of nine books including, most recently “Strangers In Their Own Land: Anger and Mourning on the American Right,” a finalist for the National Book Award, “The Second Shift,” “The Managed Heart” and “The Time Bind.” In the tradition of C. Wright Mills, Hochschild continually tries to draw links between private troubles and social issues.